ICD-10 Code Resources

Resources for ICD 10-Codes

The transition takes place Thursday, do not use ICD-10 codes tomorrow, they will be denied.  Same thing goes for using the old ICD-9 codes from Thursday on…ooops won’t cut it.

For a complete list of ICD-10 Codes click here

For a conversion chart visit this page (enter either the ICD-9 or ICD-10 code), the code will be converted to the  “other” code… ICD -9 to ICD-10 or ICD-10 to ICD-9

The codes in ICD-10 are not valid for any purpose or use in the United States until October 1, 2015. For more information on the transition, see www.asha.org/Practice/reimbursement/coding/ICD-10/.

For the most up-to-date information on ICD coding, go to ASHA’s Billing and Reimbursement website at www.asha.org/practice/reimbursement/coding/.

For additional information, contact the health care economics and advocacy team by e-mail at reimbursement@asha.org.

And for everything else… visit the tutorial found here

Good luck, hopefully the transition will be a smooth one.


ICD-10 Coding Tips

This week’s blog is short and sweet. I know everyone is panicking about the transition to ICD-10 codes. BC/BS of Michigan deserves a huge thank you for assembling this handy transition tip sheet. The sheet is split into two columns. The left side displays the ICD-9 codes you’re already using. The right side displays the ICD-10 codes you should use in place of the ICD-9 code. They’ve selected the 25 most frequently used ICD-9 codes.

Click here to be taken directly to the link



ICD-10: Good News, Bad News

 Let’s Start With the Good News

CMS Creates a One-Year Grace Period for Transition to ICD-10

From the American Academy of Audiology

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), in conjunction with the American Medical Association (AMA), announced on Monday a one-year grace period following the October 1, 2015, transition to ICD-10, where Medicare claims will not be denied based solely on inaccuracy or a lack of specificity in claims reported with ICD-10 codes.

This announcement means that providers will not be denied payment in the first year of the transition to ICD-10 as a result of unintentional coding errors inherent in the process of transitioning to the new system, as long as the wrongly coded claim is in the same general family as the correct ICD-10 code.

Monday’s announcement marks the start of a joint collaboration between CMS and the AMA to provide nationwide support and training for providers before the October 1, 2015, deadline, including a newly published set of guidance questions and answers. Outreach will include webinars, on-site training, educational articles, and provider calls. The Academy will work to share these resources with our members in addition to the many other audiology-specific resources available on our Web site

The announcement also includes measures for authorized advanced payments for Medicare contractors that cannot process claims within established time limits due to administrative challenges of the transition. Additionally, CMS will select an ICD-10 Ombudsman to be located at the ICD-10 Coordination Center to answer questions and provide assistance for claims submissions. Lastly, CMS will not subject providers to the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS), Value-Based Modifier (VBM), or meaningful use (MU) penalty during verification or auditing directly related to the greater specificity of ICD-10 codes during the first year grace period.

The Bad News?

In the announcement, CMS restated that as of October 1, 2015, all claims must still be transitioned to ICD-10.

ICD-10 Codes – This is Not Going to Be Pretty

We’ll be posting information periodically about the transition to ICD-10 codes.  Will the transition go smoothly for everyone? Of course it won’t.  But that doesn’t mean from now until October 1, 2014 (when you’re required to use the codes) you can’t learn as much as possible to prepare yourself for the inevitable.

Here is a list from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid of the most frequently asked questions they receive regarding ICD-10 Codes.  Don’t worry the answers are also listed.

FAQs: ICD-10 Transition Basics

The ICD-9 code sets used to report medical diagnoses and inpatient procedures will be replaced by ICD-10 code sets. These FAQs provide an overview of the transition to ICD-10 and points to resources for more information.

1. What does ICD-10 compliance mean?

ICD-10 compliance means that everyone covered by HIPAA is able to successfully conduct health care transactions using ICD-10 codes.

2. Will ICD-10 replace Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) procedure coding?

No. The switch to ICD-10 does not affect CPT coding for outpatient procedures. Like ICD-9 procedure codes, ICD-10- PCS codes are for hospital inpatient procedures only.

3. Who is affected by the transition to ICD-10? If I don’t deal with Medicare claims, will I have to transition?

Everyone covered by HIPAA must transition to ICD-10. This includes providers and payers who do not deal with Medicare claims.

4. Do state Medicaid programs need to transition to ICD-10?

Yes. Like everyone else covered by HIPAA, state Medicaid programs must comply with ICD-10.

5. What happens if I don’t switch to ICD-10?

Claims for all services and hospital inpatient procedures performed on or after the compliance deadline must use ICD- 10 diagnosis and inpatient procedure codes. (This does not apply to CPT coding for outpatient procedures.) Claims that do not use ICD-10 diagnosis and inpatient procedure codes cannot be processed. It is important to note, however, that claims for services and inpatient procedures provided before the compliance date must use ICD-9 codes.

6. If I transition early to ICD-10, will CMS be able to process my claims?

No. CMS and other payers will not be able to process claims using ICD-10 until the compliance date. However, providers should expect ICD-10 testing to take up to 19 months.

7. Codes change every year, so why is the transition to ICD-10 any different from the annual code changes.

ICD-10 codes are different from ICD-9 codes and have a completely different structure. Currently, ICD-9 codes are mostly numeric and have 3 to 5 digits. ICD-10 codes are alphanumeric and contain 3 to 7 characters. ICD-10 is more robust and descriptive with “one-to-many” matches in some instances.

Like ICD-9 codes, ICD-10 codes will be updated every year.